Who are you and why do you like Upton House and Gardens?

 

My name is Jane and I have been a volunteer at Upton for just over 3 years.  I started my volunteering journey as a room guide (after persuasion from my mum to join the team).  

IMG_2878

I then progressed (rather by accident than design!) to helping out with the volunteer administration which has helped me develop better computer and communication skills.  I love being at an amazing property with beautiful surroundings and lovely people.  The Monday morning walk through the orchard gets the week off to a perfect start with the best time being early spring when the bulbs are at their best.

 

A carpet of yellow in our Orchard

A carpet of yellow in our Orchard

What is your role here?

 

My role is mainly as voluntary volunteer administrator and with nearly 300 volunteers at Upton it keeps me on my toes! (or finger tips!).  The role involves processing their travel expenses, email communication and helping to progress the new systems & processes for the Trust as a pilot property.  The latter will enable volunteers to process their expenses on-line, sign-up for their shifts and also improve the organisation Trust wide with the recruitment of volunteers.

 IMG_1197

What have you particularly enjoyed?

 

The flexibility to try new things, be challenged at a pace and level to suit me and be part of a warm, friendly team of staff and a great diversity of volunteers.  I love seeing the changes in the gardens through the seasons and the fabulous projects and exhibitions in the House.  The amount of talent and creativity here is truly amazing.

 

What are you next looking forward to?

 

My 10 year old son has been part of the team for nearly a year and I love his enthusiasm.  I am really looking forward to seeing his progression in the team as it’s an added bonus having him on site with me occasionally during his school holidays.

 

Jane and Joe at Upton after completing the Easter trail at Upton

Jane and Joe at Upton after completing the Easter trail at Upton

 

On a personal level, you never know what is around the corner but for now I am enjoying the challenge of helping the team with the introduction of the new on-line system.

 

