Tags

, ,

With day 3 of #MuseumWeek we asked our volunteers their memories of Upton and other museums – we had lots of stories! Here is a personal favourite of ours by Anne, a Room Guide at Upton.

I would just like to share a small personal discovery I made last year at Upton. One very quiet day I was sitting – yes, sitting! – in the library reading Lord Bearsted’s diary which I think covered two year 1937/38 – when I came across an entry that he had written concerning an invitation he and Lady Bearsted had received to the wedding of Peter Oldfield and Lady Elisabeth Murray. I actually worked for Peter Oldfield in London in the 1960’s. He was the Senior Partner of Knight Frank and Rutley – as it was in those days – and I was his personal secretary – as we were in those days! He and Lady Elisabeth came to my wedding in 1970.

Anne in our Library

Anne in our Library

I remember Fridays in London when he and other partners would come into the office in their tweeds and brogues – not their dark city suits – ready to head off to the country for a weekend of country pursuits– maybe at Upton – what a coincidence. I think Upton is a very special place with a wonderful spirit – it draws you in, makes you feel part of it and leaves you to decide what to give back and what to take away for yourself. I feel very lucky to be part of such a dedicated team, but the moment I discovered this will certainly stay in my mind for some time!

 

We are so pleased to a place of peoples memories at Upton – if you have any, like Emily and Josh, we would love to hear from you at any time. We love to share what a special place Upton is with people, staff, volunteers and our wonderful visitors, past and present!

